Moved by the Music

I’ve been choreographing A LOT.  Recital is coming up and I’m creating six, maybe seven pieces in contemporary, lyrical and classical ballet styles.  My head has been swimming with images for weeks.  And though I’ve been concerned with patterns and textures, rhythm and flow, there is one thing that guides me more than anything else:

What is the very first thing my heart feels when I hear the music?

As a dancer, you too must answer this question.  Whether you are in class or in performance, remember:

You are not just moving to music,  you are moved by the music.

(beautiful artwork, ‘Moved by the Music IV’, by Alfred Gockel)

Leave a Reply

