The Time to Dance is NOW

I walked into the ballet studio at the age of forty-three.  It had been twenty-six years since I had danced.  I’ll never forget that first class – a mixture of emotions ranging from fear to thrill coursed through me.  But the moment I attempted my first tendu I knew I would never leave dance again.

I would have started back sooner, that’s what every dancer says, but life got in the way.  I experienced a terrible health set-back that caused me to be bed-ridden for the majority of the nineties:  Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome fell upon me with a crushing blow.  I call those years my  ‘lost decade’, a hibernation of sorts, where I waited and waited, in a fog, for my life to begin again.

And it did!  My strength slowly started to come back in year eleven of my illness.  I was very skeptical at first and very afraid to be hopeful.  But I kept getting stronger and stronger.  And that glimmer of hope grew and I knew that if I had the slightest chance to get my life back that the first thing I would do was DANCE.

I didn’t let anything stop me.  Not the puzzled looks or the curious questions.  I danced and danced and danced, as much as I could.  I had to make up for lost time!

I know from years of languishing in bed that the there is NO TIME BUT NOW – If you have an inner dancer that is calling to be let out and if you have the ability to get yourself to a dance class then you should GO.  Don’t worry about anything – not your age, ability, size, gender.  None of that matters.  A dancer is NOT someone with a perfect dancer’s body and perfect lines.  A dancer is someone WHO MUST DANCE.  I have seen dancer’s with ‘perfect’ bodies and ‘perfect’ lines and when they danced they looked dead.  Because they didn’t have a dancer’s heart.  If you have the heart for dancing then you should be dancing.  Because nothing else will bring you the joy that comes from doing something you were meant to do.

 

 

© Lauran M. Callan and brilliantdance, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to  Lauran M. Callan and brilliantdance with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “The Time to Dance is NOW

  1. Thank you Lauran for reminding us why we dance and bringing joy to what can at times seem tedious and a bit frustrating, especially for those of us whose bodies no longer do quite what we want them to!

Leave a Reply

